2015 marked the first year of the new playoff system that recently changed for college football, and Ohio State has taken the title as the first National Champions of the College Football National Championship.

This year’s playoff rules are pretty simple, including the best four teams, two semi-final games, followed by the Championship game that is played in a different city each year. These four teams are chosen by a group of individuals that have high-esteem within the world of sports, such as student-athletes, sports journalists, and coaches.

The first four teams to be chosen to compete in the first ever College Football National Championship were No. 1 seed Alabama, No. 2 seed Oregon, No. 3 seed Florida State, and No. 4 Seed Ohio State. Oregon advanced to the Championship game after defeating Florida State in the semi-finals, and Ohio State followed suit after taking out Alabama.

The final Championship game took place on January 12, and ended up breaking television records for ESPN and even Cable television, with an average of over 33.4 million viewers tuning in to watch Ohio State take on Oregon.

In the end, it was Buckeye fans that were celebrating, as Ohio State took the win with a final score of 42-20.

With College football coming to an end, fans now turn to the final games of the NFL that will be taking place through the rest of the month. With only weeks away from the Super Bowl, the anticipation is growing in the air as the 2014 football season begins to wrap up.

Do you want to watch the Super Bowl first hand? Click here to learn more about purchasing your own Super Bowl ticket package through Legendary Sports!